Cutting-Edge Research Collaboration in Health and Technology

Interdisciplinary research is a key factor when it comes to meeting major social challenges in “health, demographic change, and well-being” as well as in “inclusive, innovative, and reflective societies”. Solving complex issues in health and society requires experts from various disciplines working together – whether it be in implant research, in the development of new drugs, in hearing research, in regenerative medicine, or ethics in interdisciplinary studies of science.

OUR MISSION

Through Leibniz Alliance Hannover (LEAH) we intend to establish ideal conditions for dynamic research and teaching. For us, that means merging strategic processes, creating future-oriented educational opportunities, unlocking new fields of application and an advanced range of methods, and last but not least, sharing insights and knowledge with society and economy. Creating intellectual, virtual, and physical (free) space forms the basis for future change processes and the opportunity to develop potential. Following the example of Leibniz, the consortium acts in a universally educated and focused manner.

  • Establish a leading international position in health research
  • Recruit visionary personalities and offer them ideal platforms to develop their potential
  • Educate learners, teaching staff, and researchers to be creative, considerate, and critical via new formats
  • Share insights, knowledge, and technological innovations
  • Ensure equal opportunities at all levels 

KEY FACTS

4 Clusters of Excellence

 

2 Universities

 

1 Consortium

 

LUH AND MHH – A COLLABORATION WITH A HISTORY OF SUCCESS

Research

LUH and MHH have been working together on a project basis for several decades. The partnership has evolved over the years and provides an ideal framework for an alliance that combines the expertise of both universities. We intend to foster an even closer and more sustainable collaboration with respect to excellent research projects in future-oriented fields combined with significant synergy potential. Hannover Medical School (MHH) and Leibniz University Hannover (LUH) pool their complementary, cutting-edge research areas in medicine, natural sciences, and technology with excellence in humanities and social sciences, therefore unleashing new synergies.

Overview of the collaboration between MHH and LUH - Click to open PDF Overview of the collaboration between MHH and LUH - Click to open PDF Overview of the collaboration between MHH and LUH - Click to open PDF
Click image to open PDF

Teaching

By providing new educational opportunities and innovative formats in interdisciplinary and research-oriented teaching, Leibniz Alliance Hannover will also offer additional value to students. The intention is to attract young people from all over the world and transform Hannover into a scientific “place to be” for academic studies in health, technology and society.

The Lower Saxony Centre for Biomedical Engineering, Implant Research and Development (NIFE) is an excellent example of an existing inter-university infrastructure that incorporates joint doctoral programmes and fosters strong interdisciplinary collaboration in research and teaching. These structures provide ideal conditions to expand joint teaching programmes.

Further information

SHARED IDENTITY

The alliance has established a shared corporate identity.

LEAH – COMMUNICATIONS AND MARKETING

Mechtild Freiin v. Münchhausen
Head of Communications and Marketing, Spokesperson – Leibniz University Hannover
Mechtild Freiin v. Münchhausen
Head of Communications and Marketing, Spokesperson – Leibniz University Hannover
Stefan Zorn
Head of Public Relations, Spokesperson – Hannover Medical School
Stefan Zorn
Head of Public Relations, Spokesperson – Hannover Medical School

Forschungszusammenarbeit auf höchstem Niveau in den Bereichen Gesundheit und Technologie

Um die großen gesellschaftlichen Herausforderungen in den Bereichen „Gesundheit, demografischer Wandel und Wohlergehen“ sowie „Integrative, innovative und reflektierende Gesellschaften“ bewältigen zu können, ist fachübergreifende Forschung unerlässlich. Die Lösung komplexer Probleme in den Bereichen Gesundheit und Gesellschaft – sei es in der Implantatforschung, der Entwicklung neuer Medikamente, der Hörforschung, der regenerativen Medizin, aber auch in der Ethik und der Wissenschaftsreflexion – erfordert die gemeinsame Arbeit von Fachleuten aus vielen unterschiedlichen Disziplinen. 

UNSERE ZIELE

Mit der Leibniz Alliance Hannover (LEAH) wollen wir beste Voraussetzungen für dynamische Forschung und Lehre etablieren. Das heißt für uns, strategische Prozesse zusammenzuführen, zukunftsorientierte Bildungsangebote zu schaffen, neue Anwendungsgebiete und ein erweitertes Methodenspektrum zu erschließen und nicht zuletzt die Durchlässigkeit für Erkenntnis und Wissen in Gesellschaft und Wirtschaft zu erhöhen. Das Schaffen von gedanklichen, virtuellen und realen (Frei-)Räumen ist Basis für zukünftige Veränderungsprozesse und optimale Potenzialentfaltung. Leibniz` Vorbild folgend agiert der Verbund universell gelehrt, im Handeln fokussiert.

  • In der Gesundheitsforschung eine weltweite Spitzenposition einnehmen
  • Visionäre Persönlichkeiten rekrutieren und ihnen optimale Plattformen zur Entfaltung ihres Potenzials bieten
  • In neuen Formaten kreative, reflektierte und kritische Lernende, Lehrende und Forschende qualifizieren
  • Die Durchlässigkeit für Erkenntnis, Wissen und Technologieinnovation erhöhen
  • Chancengleichheit auf allen Ebenen sicherstellen

KENNZAHLEN

4 Exzellenzcluster
2 Universitäten
1 Verbund

LUH UND MHH – EINE KOOPERATION MIT ERFOLGSGESCHICHTE

Forschung

LUH und MHH kooperieren auf Projektebene bereits seit vielen Jahrzehnten in vielfältiger Weise. Diese nach und nach gewachsene Intensität der Zusammenarbeit bietet beste Voraussetzungen für einen Verbund, der die Stärken der beiden Hochschulen gezielt bündelt. Dafür wollen wir unsere exzellenten Forschungsprojekte in zukunftsfähigen Bereichen mit großem Synergiepotenzial noch enger und nachhaltiger vernetzen. So bündeln die Medizinische Hochschule Hannover (MHH) und die Leibniz Universität Hannover (LUH) ihre komplementären Spitzenforschungsbereiche in der Medizin, den Naturwissenschaften und der Technik mit exzellenten Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften und heben so neue Synergien.

Übersicht der Kooperation als PDF-Version öffnen Übersicht der Kooperation als PDF-Version öffnen Übersicht der Kooperation als PDF-Version öffnen
Auf das Bild klicken, um die Grafik als PDF zu öffnen.

Lehre

Die Leibniz Alliance Hannover wird auch für Studierende einen deutlichen Mehrwert bieten  – mit neuen Bildungsangeboten und innovativen Formaten in der fächerübergreifenden, forschungsorientierten Lehre. Ziel ist, dass sich Hannover für junge Leute aus aller Welt zu einem wissenschaftlichen "place to be" in den Bereichen Gesundheit, Technologie und Gesellschaft entwickelt.

Ein Beispiel für eine bereits bestehende, hochschulübergreifende Infrastruktur ist das Niedersächsische Zentrum für Biomedizintechnik, Implantatforschung und Entwicklung (NIFE), in dem bereits gemeinsame Promotionsprogramme und starke interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit sowohl in Forschung und Lehre laufen. Diese Strukturen bieten optimale Voraussetzungen für den Ausbau des gemeinsamen Lehrangebots.

Weiterführende Informationen

GEMEINSAME IDENTITÄT

Der Verbund entwickelt eine gemeinsame Corporate Identity.

LEAH – KOMMUNIKATION UND MARKETING

Mechtild Freiin v. Münchhausen
Leitung Kommunikation und Marketing und Pressesprecherin - Leibniz Universität Hannover
Mechtild Freiin v. Münchhausen
Leitung Kommunikation und Marketing und Pressesprecherin - Leibniz Universität Hannover
Stefan Zorn
Leitung Presse-/Öffentlichkeitsarbeit und Pressesprecher - Medizinische Hochschule Hannover
Stefan Zorn
Leitung Presse-/Öffentlichkeitsarbeit und Pressesprecher - Medizinische Hochschule Hannover